2020 COVID-19 Innovation Awards Recipients

Meet the 2020 Recipients
of ABC’s COVID-19 Innovation Awards

LaPrincess C. Brewer, MD, MPH (top left), Kemar Joseph Brown, MD (top middle), Anika L. Hines, PhD, MPH (top right),
Adedapo Iluyomade, MD (bottom left), Donald Lynch, Jr., MD (bottom middle), Alanna A. Morris, MD, MS (bottom right).

The ABC is pleased to announce the ABC members whose projects were selected as recipients of the COVID-19 Innovation Awards first round of funding. Six awards, totaling $200,000, were given out to these worthy projects across the country – four awards each totaling $25,000 and two awards each totaling $50,000. Awardees will be required to present their project and its results at an upcoming ABC meeting or webinar within 12-16 months of the award date – date to be determined.   

  • LaPrincess C. Brewer, MD, MPH: COVID-19 Emergency Preparedness and Risk Communication Among African American Churches: Leveraging a Community-Based Participatory Research Partnership
  • Kemar Joseph Brown, MD: Social Determinants of Telehealth Utilization in Cardiovascular Care During the COVID-19 Pandemic 
  • Anika L. Hines, PhD, MPH: Stress Coping Among African American Women During COVID-19 Pandemic: Psychological and BP Outcomes 
  • Adedapo Iluyomade, MD, MBA: YTC: Youth Tackling COVID-19: A Partnership between South Florida Medical Schools to Slow the COVID-19 Pandemic by Addressing the Infodemic
  • Donald Lynch Jr., MD: Leveraging mHealth to Mitigate the Impact of COVID-19 in African American Communities
  • Alanna Morris, MD, MSc: The Georgia COVID Consortium: An Academic-Clinical-Community Partnership to Study the Impact of COVID-19 across Georgia Communities

The official announcement can be viewed during ABC’s webinar, “Avoiding Heartbreak: COVID-19 Complications and Risk Mitigation in Diverse Populations.”

Back to News