Spirit of the Heart Honorees



Bernard J. Tyson
ABC Dr. Walter M. Booker Health Promotion Award

Bernard J. Tyson 
Chairman and CEO, Kaiser Permanente






Dr Nanette Wenger
ABC Spirit of the Heart Legacy Award

Nanette Kass Wenger, MD, MACC, MACP, FAHA
Professor of Medicine (Emeritus) Cardiology, Emory University School of Medicine
Past Chief of Cardiology Grady Memorial Hospital
Consultant, Emory Heart & Vascular Center
Founding Consultant, Emory Women’s Heart Center





Dr. Keith C Ferdinand
ABC Spirit of the Heart Distinguished Leadership Award

Keith C. Ferdinand, D, FACC, FAHA, FNLA, FASH
Professor of Medicine, Tulane University School of Medicine, Heart and Vascular Institute






Patricia Butts
ABC Spirit of the Heart Community Health Advocate

Mrs. Patricia R. Butts
Founder and President of the Abyssinian Baptist Church Health Ministry







GAry Puckrein
ABC Spirit of the Heart Health Equity Award

National Minority Quality Forum
accepted by Gary Puckrein, PhD,
President and CEO






Terry Ferguson
ABC Spirit of the Heart Award

accepted by Terry Ferguson,
Executive Director, US Cardiovascular Therapeutic Area Head, Global Medical at Amgen






8th Annual Spirit of the Heart events page